top of page
  • Writer's pictureAJ

Stick man came to life





Feb 2, 2019


I saw a stick man come to life today. 

He stood tall, and yet he was a bit crunched over, the weight he was carrying wasn't as invisible as I had perceived.


He had always seemed immovable, rigid and fixed in his own universe,

a place not so far away to reach, but my laziness didn’t allow me to take the leap into his land.


Stick man just appeared one day,

I simply thought it a coincidence for someone as nice, someone as joyous as him would want to sing with me.


Ah, stick man, what a great time we had that night; when we served the lost souls in our lives.

But sitting and listening, my mouth shut and my spirit quickening, I realised that you're a being after all,

not a silly 2D figure that I adopted as your name.

I saw you fret stick man,

I saw you move, and my ideas about you quickly shifted to something I don’t think I quite knew. 


Today I saw a stick man come to life,

it happened once,

then twice,

oh, they kept on multiplying.

It opened my eyes to the fact that no one is a figure, no one is a drone.  

Everyone is just a little flatter, a litter thinner at first glance, but once the book is opened they come alive like the stick man I saw that night.


- AJ

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page